Ethical Corporate Management and Legal Compliance

TOP

● Ethical Corporate Management Culture

SinoPac Holdings established the " Ethical Corporate Management Committee" in 2018. The " Ethical Corporate Management Committee" consists of 7 members including the Independent Directors of SinoPac Holdings, Bank SinoPac, and SinoPac Securities. Meetings are convened at least once every six months. The Committee is responsible for the review of the ethical corporate management policies and prevention programs, and for supervision of the implementation performance of the managerial departments.

● Ethical Corporate Management Policy and Management

SinoPac Holdings established the "Guidelines for Ethical Corporate Management" and "Procedures for Ethical Management and Guidelines for Conduct" as the basis for compliance by all employees of SinoPac Holdings and subsidiaries. The regulations expressly prohibit employees from accepting illegitimate interests for the purpose of establishing business relations in their business operations or business conduct. They may not leak or inquire trade secrets unrelated to their duties. They must process business affairs in an objective manner, and they must recuse themselves from conflicts of interest. SinoPac Holdings and its subsidiaries have conducted business activities in accordance with the Fair Trade Act and related laws and regulations, as well as internal regulations including Guidelines for Codes of Ethical Conduct, Corporate Governance Guidelines, Guidelines for Corporate Social Responsibility, Human Rights Policy, Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorism Financing Policy (AML/CFT Policy), and Equity Management Policy for compliance. SinoPac Holdings also established the Supplier Corporate Social Responsibility Code of Conduct to encourage suppliers to fulfill corporate social responsibility together.

● Whistleblowing Channels and Whistleblower Protection

SinoPac Holdings' "Whistleblowing Policy" provides clear regulations on the whistleblowing system for internal and external whistleblowers. The Company announced the whistleblowing channels on the official websites and regularly organizes promotion and training on the whistleblowing system to encourage insiders and outsiders to report unethical or inappropriate conduct. All whistleblowing cases are processed by the Legal & Compliance Division of SinoPac Holdings. Whistleblowers are provided with rewards based on the severity of the case and any insider having made a false report or malicious accusation shall be subject to disciplinary action.

SinoPac Holdings shall keep the whistleblower's identity and contents of the report confidential. Anonymous reports may still be accepted if they are provided with specific contents or evidence that warrant investigations, as determined by the unit that received the report. SinoPac Holdings is committed to protecting whistleblowers from inappropriate treatment for their report. Whistleblowers may not be subject to inappropriate treatment for their reports such as dismissal, relief of duty, demotion, salary cut, any loss of benefit that they are entitled to under laws, contracts or customary practices, or adverse treatments of any kind. If whistleblowers are subject to inappropriate disciplinary actions due to their whistleblowing, they may lodge a complaint with the Human Resources Division, which shall report the complaint to the next meeting of the Ethical Corporate Management Committee.

● Tax Policy

SinoPac Holdings amended the "Tax Policy" and the amendment was passed in the meeting of the Board of Directors in December 2020. SinoPac Holdings mainly operates in Taiwan. In 2020 and 2019, the percentage of revenue from Taiwan was 86.4% and 84.4%, respectively. Except for Taiwan, no more than 10% of the revenue came from other countries. SinoPac Holdings complies with tax regulations and pays all taxes within the statutory tax-paying period. The income tax paid in 2020 and 2019 was NT$1,410,821 thousand and NT$1,465,893 thousand in which the percentage of income tax paid in accordance with Taiwan tax laws were 53.3% and 88.7%. According to Taiwan Income Tax Law, the taxable amount of income tax for corporate income tax shall be the higher of the general income tax and the basic tax rate. The corporate income tax rate applicable in 2020 and 2019 was 20%, and the basic tax amount shall be calculated according to the Income Basic Tax regulations of 12%, which is comparably lower than that of other countries. This is the main reason that the effective tax rate of SinoPac Holdings is lower than the average of the global bank industry.

● Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorism Financing

● Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorism Financing Policy
SinoPac Holdings has established the "Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorism Financing Policy" ("AML/CFT Policy") for compliance by SinoPac Holdings and all subsidiaries. The subsidiaries also established their own internal regulations and operating procedures for anti-money laundering and counter terrorism financing based on laws for their respective industries, related industrial laws and regulations, the self-disciplinary regulations and conventions of industry associations, and references provided in the AML/CFT Policy of SinoPac Holdings.

● Anti-Money Laundering Management Framework
To implement the Group's Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) tasks and create an AML/CFT culture, SinoPac Holdings established the "Risk Management Committee" under the management of the Chairman of SinoPac Holdings. The Chairman of SinoPac Holdings serves as the chair of the Committee and supervises and manages the AML/CFT risk and the integration and distribution of resources between subsidiaries. The Legal & Compliance Division of SinoPac Holdings serves as the dedicated AML/CFT unit responsible for supervising and assisting the planning and execution of AML/CFT operations of subsidiaries. SinoPac Holdings established the Guidelines for Information Sharing and Using of Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Terrorism Financing and established an information sharing platform to prevent omissions in horizontal communication between subsidiaries from causing gaps in AML operations. Under the premises of ensuring the protection of personal information and ensuring information confidentiality, SinoPac Holdings requires all subsidiaries to share their money laundering or terrorism financing patterns and blacklists on a regular or irregular basis. The information should be uploaded to SinoPac Holdings' information sharing platform for reference by all subsidiaries to prevent similar cases from occurring in other subsidiaries.

● Material Violations and Improvement Measures

The senior executives and employees of SinoPac Holdings and its subsidiaries are fully committed to implementing ethical corporate management in daily actions and operations. However, there remains items that require continual improvement and they will be adopted as lessons for optimizing decisions for corporate governance in the future. There were three cases of material violations in 2020 which involved the violation of internal regulations at SinoPac Futures and Bank SinoPac, and leak of customer personal data at SinoPac Securities. Related personnel received penalties including demerits and warnings based on the severity of the violation. There were no cases of corruption, bribery or antitrust/anti-competitive practices in 2020. To continue to increase employees' compliance awareness, Bank SinoPac established the Employee Service and Code of Conduct Guidelines on November 11, 2019 in accordance with the Employee Service Guidelines of SinoPac Holdings and the Internal Control Principles for the Prevention of Misappropriation of Client Funds by Wealth Management Specialists of the Bankers' Association. The Guidelines of Bank SinoPac included important compliance matters such as the requirements for fiduciary duties, ethical conduct, and personal data protection. Training is organized each quarter starting from November 2019, and employees are required to sign statements each year to confirm compliance.

誠信經營與法令遵循

TOP

● 誠信經營文化

永豐金控於2018年設立「誠信經營委員會」,由金控、銀行及證券子公司之獨立董事共7位組成,每半年至少召開一次會議,負責誠信經營政策與防範方案之審議及監督經理部門執行成效,並定期向董事會報告遵循情形及決議事項。

  • 誠信經營政策與管理

永豐金控訂定「誠信經營守則」及「誠信經營作業程序及行為指南」,作為金控及子公司所有員工遵循之依據,規範中明訂人員於執行業務時或從事商業行為的過程中,不得接受不正當利益藉以建立商業關係,且不得洩露或探詢非與職務相關的商業機密等,並應以客觀方式處理公務,做好利益迴避。永豐金控及各子公司為依公平交易法及相關法規從事營業活動,訂有「道德行為守則」、「公司治理守則」、「企業社會責任行為守則」、「人權政策」、「防制洗錢及打擊防恐政策」、「股權管理辦法」等據以遵循,另訂有「供應商企業社會責任行為守則」,鼓勵供應商一同履行企業社會責任。

  • 檢舉管道與保護機制

永豐金控「檢舉案件處理辦法」明定內外部之吹哨者舉報機制,於官方網站公告檢舉管道,並定期辦理檢舉制度之宣導與教育訓練,鼓勵內部及外部人員檢舉不誠信行為或不當行為。檢舉案件由永豐金控法令遵循處統一受理,檢舉人將依檢舉情事之情節輕重,酌予獎勵,內部人員如有虛報或惡意指控之情形,則予以紀律處分。

永豐金控對於檢舉人的身分及檢舉內容確實保密,匿名檢舉者,若所陳述之內容具體明確,且附有可供查證資料或方向,受理單位認有調查之必要者,仍得受理。永豐金控承諾保護檢舉人不因檢舉情事而遭不當處置,不得因所檢舉案件而對檢舉人予以解僱、解任、降調、減薪、損害其依法令、契約或習慣上所應享有之權益,或其他不利處分,若檢舉人認為因檢舉情事而遭受不利處分,得向人力資源處提出申訴,人力資源處並應於最近一次誠信經營委員會提出報告。

● 稅務政策

永豐金控已訂定「稅務治理政策」,並於202012月經董事會修正通過。永豐金控主要營運地區為臺灣,2020年度及2019年度之淨收益中,來自臺灣之比重分別為86.4%84.4%,除了臺灣外,未有超過10%之淨收益來自其他單一國家。永豐金控遵循稅務法規,按規定期限報繳各項稅款,2020年及2019年於全球繳納所得稅稅款分別為新臺幣1,410,821仟元及1,465,893仟元,其中在臺灣繳納之所得稅款比重分別為53.3% 88.7%。依臺灣所得稅法相關規定,營利事業所得稅應繳納稅額按一般所得稅額與基本稅額取高者,2020年度及2019年度適用之一般所得稅稅率為20%,另依所得基本稅額條例計算基本稅額之稅率為12%,稅率相較其他國家低,此為永豐金控之有效稅率較全球銀行業平均低之主因。

● 防制洗錢及打擊資恐

  • 防制洗錢及打擊資恐政策

永豐金控已訂定「防制洗錢及打擊資恐政策」供金控及各子公司共同遵循;各子公司亦分別依循各該業別相關法令規定,以及所屬同業公會之自律規範及公約,並同時參照「防制洗錢及打擊資恐政策」之規範內容,自行訂定防制洗錢及打擊資恐之內部規範及作業程序。

  • 洗錢防制管理架構

為落實集團防制洗錢及打擊資恐(Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of TerrorismAML/CFT) 的工作及文化,永豐金控董事長下設「風險管理委員會」,由金控董事長擔任主席,負責監督及管理跨子公司洗錢防制及打擊資恐之風險及資源之整合與分配,金控法令遵循處為AML/CFT專責單位,負責督導及協助子公司AML/CFT 運作之規劃及執行。永豐金控訂定集團資訊分享政策及程序並建立資訊分享平台,以避免子公司橫向聯繫的疏漏,造成防制洗錢的缺口。在未違反個人資料保護及確保資訊機密性之前提下,要求各子公司應定期或不定期分享洗錢或資恐態樣及黑名單,並上傳至金控資訊分享平台供其他子公司參考辦理,以防止或控管類似案例於子公司重複發生。

● 重大違反項目及改善措施

永豐金控及子公司管理階層與員工均致力於實踐誠信經營於日常行為與營運中,惟仍有不足之處須持續改善之項目,將以此為鑑,依各事項發生之狀況與處置改善方式,做為未來優化公司治理之決策參考。2020年重大違反項目計有永豐期貨及永豐銀行違反內部規章、永豐證券客戶個資外洩等共三案,案關人員依情節輕重受記過、申誡等處分;2020年無任何貪腐事件,亦無與反競爭、反壟斷相關情事。為持續提升員工法遵意識,銀行子公司已於20191111日參酌「員工服務準則」及銀行公會「銀行防範理財專員挪用客戶款項相關內控作業原則」等規範,訂定包含忠實義務、誠信行為、個資保護等重要法令遵循事項之「員工服務守則暨行為規範要點」,並自201911月起每季辦理宣導,每年由員工簽署聲明書確認遵循。