Status of Operations

TOP

■ Status of Operations

To effectively manage the risks arising from the operations of SinoPac Holdings and its subsidiaries, the Board of Directors serves as the highest supervisory unit in charge of approving the risk management policy and risk appetite or limit and giving the management authority for daily risk management. The Risk Management Division takes in charge of developing the risk management policies, guidelines, and systems for SinoPac Holdings and its subsidiaries. In addition to implementing the risk management policies, guidelines, and systems approved by the Board of Directors, the Risk Management Division is responsible to regularly evaluate the performance of SinoPac Holdings and its subsidiaries in terms of risk management.

  • Status of Operations:

    In 2020:

    • Establish mechanisms for identifying emerging risks and introduce the TCFD framework to identify financial risks caused by climate change.

    • Establish the Guidelines for the Management of Climate-Related Risks and Opportunities" to facilitate the identification, measurement, and monitoring of climate-related risks and opportunities and formulate response measures and reports.

    • Optimize the risk information integration system, continued to use the "data granulation" structure and the "data governance" structure to build risk information integration database.

    • In response to the Global COVID-19 pandemic, the "credit and market risk enhancement mechanism" and "liquidity risk response countermeasures" were formulated, and rolling adjustments were made with the changes in the epidemic.

    • Established an external penalty event database system for financial holdings to actively learn and improve from mistakes in the industry, and save the time and manpower for auditing, legal compliance, and risk management units collecting punishment information.

    In 2021:

    • Continue to improve emerging risk and climate change risk management mechanisms, and complete scenario analysis on both climate-related physical risks and transition risks, and provided results on climate change risk analysis in the risk management report quarterly and submitted it to the Risk Management Committee and the Board of Directors.

    • In response to the Global and local COVID-19 pandemic, based on the two aspects of Top-down, SinoPac Holdings and Button-up of its subsidiaries have formulated a strengthening mechanism and countermeasures for the three risk pillars of market, credit, and liquidity, and will be adjusted in a rolling manner as the pandemic changes.

    • Optimize the risk information integration system, continued to use the "data granulation" structure and the "data governance" structure to build risk information integration database. Also, SinoPac Holdings planned to use the "data visualization platform" for self analysis and development, with AI tools to strengthen risk parameters and built intelligence tracking or early warning mechanism to construct a visualized "integrated risk management system".

 

■ Credit, Market, Operation, and Liquidity Risk Management

 

■ Emerging Risk Management

Climate change and population structure changes may cause material impacts on the overall business environment. Effective identification and assessment of emerging risks (potential risks in the next 3 to 5 years) and formulation of response measures have become important tasks for financial institutions. SinoPac Holdings thus established the Emerging Risk Management Guidelines and the according management mechanisms for the identification, measurement, monitoring, reporting, and mitigation measures for emerging risks. Since 2019, the Risk Management Division of SinoPac Holdings has referenced related reports on emerging risks published by external institutions each year. The Division compiles feedback from subsidiaries, identifies emerging risks at the group level, and plans mitigation measures for the management to implement advanced preparation and response.

  • Emerging Risk Identification Results
    SinoPac Holdings compiles the emerging risks submitted by the subsidiaries and considers the possibility of occurrence and the level of impact to identify the Group's emerging risks in the next 3 to 5 years. Among these risks, the two major risks including “asset bubble burst” and “climate change” have more significant impact on SinoPac Holdings and the Company formulated related mitigating actions.



 

■ Climate Risk Management

  • Governance Framework
    The Sustainable Development Committee of SinoPac Holdings stays up-to-date on domestic and overseas trends in sustainable development issues and climate change, formulate sustainability guidelines. The task forces under the committee have formulated action plans corresponding to the commitment to Mitigate and Adapt to Climate Change.

  • Management Procedures
    To implement the Sustainable Development Roadmap and enhance ESG risk management mechanisms, SinoPac Holdings integrated climate change risks into the Company’s centralized “Risk Management Policy” in 2019 and established the "Guidelines for the Management of Climate-Related Risks and Opportunities" to cover all types/sources of risks and opportunities. The management procedures for climate-related risks and opportunities can be divided into four steps including compiling a list of risks and opportunities, identifying risks/opportunities of subsidiaries, identifying group-level risks/opportunities and proposing mitigation or adaptation measures, and disclosing climate-related risks/opportunities and strategies. Starting from 2021, the Risk Management Division of SinoPac Holdings shall disclose the overall climate change risks in the quarterly Risk Management Report and report to the Risk Management Committee and the Board of Directors.

  • Results the Identification of Climate-Related Risks and Opportunities


  • Results the Identification of Climate-Related Opportunities
    SinoPac Holdings leverages its core competencies in the finance industry and the market to grasp opportunities created by climate change and actively develop climate-related financial products. Please refer to SinoPac Holdings 2 0 2 0 Corporate Social Responsibility Report 3.1. Sustainable Finance Strategy, 3.2 Sustainable Financial Products and Services, and 3.4 Smart Financing for detailed information on the implementation strategies and explanation of products. Resource efficiency opportunities are concentrated in operations. SinoPac Holdings continues to optimize energy conservation actions to reduce operating costs. Please refer to 5.1 Green Operations for detailed information on implementation strategies and response measures.

  • Quantification of Climate-Related Physical Risks and Transition Risks
    SinoPac Holdings quantified the impact of extreme climate events on its operations and collateral for physical risks based on the results of the aforementioned climate risk assessment; the quantification of transition risks are based on the financial impact of changes in policies and law.

風險管理運作情形

TOP

■ 風險管理運作情形

為有效管理本公司及各子公司因經營所產生之各項風險,董事會為本公司風險監督最高單位,除負責核定風險管理政策、風險胃納或限額,並授權管理階層負責日常風險管理工作。風險管理處統籌本公司及各子公司整體風險管理政策與準則之擬定及風險管理制度之建置及規劃。各項政策、準則及制度經董事會通過後由風險管理處負責推動,並就各子公司執行成果及管理績效作定期評估。

  • 運作情形:

    2020年:

    • 建置新興風險鑑別機制,導入TCFD架構鑑別氣候變遷造成的財務風險。
    • 增訂「氣候相關風險與機會管理要點」,以利執行氣候相關風險與機會之鑑別、衡量、監控、擬定因應措施及報告。
    • 因應全球新冠疫情,擬具「信用及市場風險強化機制」及「流動性風險因應對策」,並隨疫情變化滾動式調整。
    • 完善金控風險資訊整合系統,持續以「資料顆粒化」結構及「數據治理」架構,建置金控風險資訊整合資料庫。
    • 建置金控外部裁罰事件資料庫系統,以主動從同業錯誤中學習改進,並節省稽法風單位蒐集裁罰資料之時間與人力。

    2021年:

    • 持續優化新興風險與氣候變遷風險之管理機制,完成氣候變遷實體與轉型風險之情境分析與量化計算,並於風險管理報告中揭示氣候變遷風險概況,每季呈報風險管理委員會及董事會。
    • 因應全球及本土新冠疫情升溫,以金控母公司Top-down及各子公司Button-up兩面向,擬具市場、信用及流動性三個風險支柱的強化機制與因應對策,隨疫情變化滾動式調整。
    • 完善金控風險資訊整合系統,持續以「資料顆粒化」結構及「數據治理」架構,建置金控風險資訊整合資料庫,並規劃運用「數據視覺化平台工具」自主分析及開發 ,輔以AI 工具補強風險參數,建立智能追蹤或預警機制,以客戶風險視圖,建構視覺化「整合性風險管理戰情室」。

 

■ 信用、市場、作業及流動性風險管理

 

■ 新興風險管理

因應氣候變遷、人口結構改變等可能對整體經營環境造成重大影響,如何有效辨識評估新興風險(未來3至5年)並研擬減緩措施,已成為金融機構風險管理的重要課題,永豐金控訂有「新興風險管理要點」,依其建置新興風險辨識、衡量、監控、報告與減緩措施等管理機制。於2019 年起,每年皆參考外部機構發佈之新興風險相關報告進行新興風險鑑別,並彙集子公司意見,辨識出金控層級新興風險及研擬風險減緩措施,呈報管理階層以提早布局與因應。

  • 新興風險辨識結果
    永豐金控彙集各子公司之新興風險,依「發生可能性」及「衝擊影響程度」辨識出金控層級之未來3 至5 年新興風險,其中以「資產泡沫破裂」及「氣候變遷」等兩大風險對永豐金控影響較大,擬具相關減緩措施。



 

■ 氣候變遷風險管理

  • 治理架構
    永豐金控永續發展委員會持續關注國內外永續發展議題與氣候趨勢、制定具體永續方針,並透過委員會下五個推動小組擬定具體行動方案,呼應「減緩與調適氣候變遷」之永續承諾。

  • 管理流程
    為落實永續發展藍圖及強化ESG 風險管理機制,永豐金控於2019 年已將「氣候變遷風險」納入「風險管理政策」,並建立「氣候相關風險與機會管理要點」,以健全氣候風險與機會的管理機制。針對氣候風險與機會之鑑別的管理流程可分為彙整氣候風險及機會清單、辨識子公司層級之風險/ 機會、鑑別金控層級之風險/ 機會並提出減緩或調適措施、對外揭露及溝通等四步驟。2021 年起,永豐金控風險管理處每季於風險管理報告內揭示氣候變遷風險概況,並呈報風險管理委員會及董事會。

  • 氣候相關風險與機會之鑑別結果


  • 氣候機會鑑別結果
    為掌握氣候變遷帶來的機會,永豐金控結合金融業核心本業及市場,積極開發氣候相關金融商品,詳細推動策略及商品說明請參考本公司2020年企業社會責任報告書3.1永續金融策略、3.2永續金融商品與服務、3.4智慧金融。資源效率的機會則是針對營運面,持續優化節能作為,進而節省營運成本,詳細推動策略及因應作為請參考5.1綠色營運。

  • 氣候相關實體風險及轉型風險量化
    依照上述氣候風險鑑別結果,永豐金控分別針對實體風險的極端氣候事件,對自身營運及授信擔保品造成的衝擊進行量化計算;轉型風險則以政策及法規轉變進行財務衝擊評估。