Corporate Governance

TOP

Sustainable Management

To better improve corporate governance standards, and to fulfill our corporate social responsibility, and to establish a moral standard of ethical management, corporate culture, and drive colleagues to adhere to high moral standards, SinoPac Holdings on December 20, 2017 and on February 2, 2018, the Board of Directors approved the "Corporate Governance Best Practice Principles", "Code of Conduct", and "Principles for Corporate Social Responsibility". In accordance to the Code of Conduct, we established a "Ethical Business Committee", responsible for policies of ethical behavior and establish rules for prevention and supervision. Plans for a "whistleblower" policy and its effectiveness is also evaluated. According to the "Principles for Corporate Social Responsibility", we establish a "Sustainable Development Committee", responsible for the policies of CSR, regulations, and other guidelines and plans for implementation and execution, with regular reporting to the Board of Directors.

Sustainable Development Committee

In January 2018, we passed the "Principles of SinoPac Holdings Corporate Social Responsibility", and in March 2018 established the "Sustainable Development Committee", with the holding company chairman as the committee chair, developing 5 promotional teams, respectively, Corporate Governance, Customer Relations, Employee care, Social Involvement, and Sustainable Environment. Together, we aim to achieve our social corporate responsibility policy and manage holding company and subsidiaries' operational activities and its risk and impact on economics, the environment,
and society.

2017 Corporate Governance Evaluation and Improvement Plan

In 2017, SinoPac Holdings continues to strengthen corporate governance, retaining an external management consulting firm to execute a review of the holding company and subsidiaries, including the following 6 companies, Bank SinoPac, SinoPac Securities, SinoPac Securities (Asia), SinoPac Leasing, Grand Capital. The scope of the review included corporate governance, auditing, compliance, and risk management operations.

The review indicated that SinoPac have implemented policies and rules as required by law. However, the execution of such policies have areas of improvement. Together with the request of domestic regulatory agencies, the Board of Directors proposes the following 5 major action plan.

Three Levels of Internal Controls

Ethical Management

SinoPac Holdings developed a more comprehensive governance structure, guidelines, and risk management strategy, enabling the holding company and subsidiaries can better adhere to regulations and achieve information distribution and communications. In addition to policies, we also strengthen our training and information distribution to our directors, senior management, and staff, enabling a higher standard of ethical management and efficiency.

1. Code of conduct

To implement our corporate governance policies, SinoPac Holdings informs directors of any continuing education opportunities in regards to corporate governance. In 2017, 8 directors have participated in corporate governance continuing education in adherence to the rules in the " Directions for the Implementation of Continuing Education for Directors and Supervisors of TWSE Listed and TPEx Listed Companies."

Concurrently, in accordance with the labor standards laws and relevant rules, we have established "work rules", "employee service standards", "rules governing employee rewards and discipline", and other internal rules as the ethical guidelines for our Company and subsidiary colleagues. We clearly establish and provide our rules and service standards, ethical guidelines, and reward and discipline rules to all our employees, available in our Company intranet.

If there are any violations of the code of conduct, fraud, or bribery that is reported, HR personnel in conjunction with compliance and auditing personnel shall open an investigation and implement punishments as required. In 2017, no such cases have been opened.

Importantly, during new hire induction, all colleagues are introduced to the code of conduct and the importance emphasized to all colleagues to ensure the rules and standards are familiar. In the annual evaluation, the compatibility and execution of these standards are considered, as well as their personal records of rewards and demerits, and other comprehensive KPIs. Combined, the results of these performance assessments are reflected in their annual bonuses.

To prevent unethical actions, the holding company and subsidiaries have established effective accounting policies and internal control policies. By law, the Company shall not establish separate books or secret accounts. Moreover, in all operations, colleagues of the holding company and subsidiaries shall not directly or indirectly offer or receive bribes, promises, or unethical profits, or act against ethical standards, existing laws, or act against their fiduciary duty as custodians. In 2017, subsidiary, Bank SinoPac per its auditing rules and procedures have ensured no such cases have occurred.

The evaluation of all accounting policies, internal control policies and operations, are scheduled in the scope of the regular audits, and results will be submitted to the Board of Directors, by internal audit personnel of the holding company and subsidiaries.

2. Educational Training

For new colleagues, new hire induction training includes training by dedicated personnel or supervisors on the aspects of professional ethics, ethical guidelines, and relevant internal rules and external laws, emphasizing and strengthening the understanding of "ethical management".

Banks particularly emphasize sales discipline training on anti-corruption policies, which involves wealth management, retail banking, insurance sales, and highlights certain precautions. Training using case studies of restricted sales behavior are held regularly for distribution channel supervisors and sales personnel, and are held in the north, central, and south regions, respectively.

Risk Management

SinoPac Holdings has established a complete and effective risk management mechanism, separating into the following three areas: "Risk Management Culture", "Risk Management Policy and Procedures", and "Emergency Response Reporting", to ensure stable management concurrent with the pursuit of profits.

1. Risk Management Culture

We have established a dedicated risk management unit to deliberate the risk management policy, and to effectively management the different types of risks emerging from operations, as per the policy and strategic principles. Establishing a risk management information system and through risk adjusted asset allocation, we seek a rationalization of risk and return, and improve overall operational efficiency. Proactive improvements of major risks through the internal auditing system, tracking and reporting updates regularly to the Board of Directors.

 

2. Risk Management Policies & Procedures

SinoPac Holdings has a clear risk management structure, split into 4 dedicated levels, namely, the Board of Directors, the Risk Management Committee, the Risk Management Division, and at the front-line level of auditing units with clear separation of duties and responsibilities. We have established complete risk guidelines and limits, enabling an appropriate balance between profitability and risk.

3. Emergency Notification Mechanisms

Bank SinoPac has established the "Bank SinoPac Emergency Response Rules", clearly listing the reporting procedures for emergency events, such as for man-made or natural disasters, internal control failures, major procedural errors, business-related losses, cybersecurity, human safety matters, that results in each unit in failing to operate regularly.

In the event of an emergency, first responses are done via telephone, text, or other appropriate methods in informing related personnel, and depending on the importance of the case, reported to related units, then passed on to the decision-making unit and escalated upwards as needed. This procedure ensures that losses and client rights are protected to the fullest.

Auditing Mechanism

SinoPac Holdings strictly executes a third line of defense in risk management with an independent internal auditing unit with sufficient personnel and internal auditing colleagues with appropriate risk management expertise, enabling the evaluation of the appropriateness of risk management tools. In 2017, we established AN appropriate audit plan and procedures, and sufficiently understand the risk management procedures and operating status of each operating unit. After the risk management evaluation, the following items were
noted:

Legal Compliance

To ensure that colleagues from all units are compliant with all relevant laws and regulations during the ordinary course of business, the legal compliance division in 2017 strengthened its activities. The team improved the execution of its self-evaluation, update of relevant laws, review of its rules, and evaluated the execution of special projects of subsidiaries, and strengthened communication and educational training through multiple channels to improve legal compliance.

公司治理

TOP

永續治理思維

為建立良好之公司治理制度、實踐企業社會責任、建立誠信經營之企業文化及導引公司人員之行為符合道德標準,永豐金控於2017年12月20日、2018年2月2日董事會通過訂定「公司治理守則」、「誠信經營守則」、「道德行為準則」及「企業社會責任守則」。且依據「誠信經營守則」設置「誠信經營委員會」,負責誠信經營政策與防範方案之制定及監督執行、規劃檢舉制度並確保執行之有效性;依據「企業社會責任守則」設置「永續發展委員會」,負責企業社會責任政策、制度或相關管理方針及具體推動計畫之提出及執行,並定期向董事會報告。

 

2017年永豐金控公司治理五大行動方案以實際作為展現提升公司治理的決心

 

永續發展委員會

2018年1月通過「永豐金融控股股份有限公司企業社會責任守則」,於2018年3月成立「永續發展委員會」,由金控董事長擔任主任委員,共規劃五個推動小組,分別為公司治理組、顧客關係組、員工照顧組、社會參與組及環境永續組,以實踐企業社會責任政策及管理金控及各子公司營運活動對經濟、環境及社會的風險與影響。

2017年公司治理檢視與改善專案

2017年永豐金控為強化公司治理,委託外部知名管理顧問公司執行金控及永豐銀行、永豐金證券、永豐金證券(亞洲)、永豐金租賃、Grand Capital等六家子公司的公司治理與稽核、法遵、及風險管理運作檢視。

依檢視結果,依法應有之各項制度及規範,永豐皆已俱備,但執行面則有部分可再加強落實。配合國內金融監理趨勢與要求,於董事會提出五大行動方案:

內部控制三道防線

誠信經營

永豐金控規劃完善的治理架構、規章及風險管理策略,以使金控及各子公司內部相關法令制度能充份傳達與溝通,除了制定完善行為準則規範,並透過對董事、高階主管及一般同仁進行教育訓練及正向傳達訊息,全面提升公司的誠信經營成效。

1. 行為準則

為落實公司治理制度,永豐金控遇有公司治理相關進修資訊,均轉知董事知悉並參與課程,2017年度有八席董事之進修符合「上市櫃公司董事、監察人進修推行要點」之規定。

同時,依勞動基準法及相關法令制定「工作規則」及「員工服務準則」、「員工獎懲規則」等各項內部規章做為金控及各子公司同仁行為倫理守則之依據,明確規範同仁應遵循之服務要求、倫理規範以及獎懲制度等相關規範均公告於公司內部網站。

同仁若違反行為準則及涉入貪腐事件,經舉報後,人力資源單位將與法令遵循及稽核單位展開調查,若屬實將送人評會懲處。2017年經查無相關案例。

所有同仁於新員訓練時予以介紹說明該規範之重要性,使其熟悉相關守則及規定,強調員工操守之重要性。年度同仁績效考核參酌同仁對公司政策之配合度及執行力,以及獎懲記錄等績效指標綜合考量,進行整體績效考核作業,並依據當年度績效評核表現於次一年度核發績效獎金。

金控及各子公司為防範不誠信行為,已建立有效之會計制度及各項內部控制制度,除依法律規定未設置公司外帳或保留秘密帳戶外,並已規範金控及各子公司同仁於執行業務過程中,不得為獲得或維持利益,直接或間接提供、收受、承諾或要求任何不正當利益,或從事其他違反誠信、不法或違背受託義務之行為。2017年間依據該審查規範與流程,無已確認之事件。

金控及各子公司內部稽核人員對於會計制度、內部控制制度之運作情形,均已列入定期查核之範圍,並將查核結果提報董事會。

2. 教育訓練

對於新進同仁,在職前訓練課程中,均安排專人或主管講述同仁職業道德、誠信原則與相關內容、外部法令規定,深入與強化有關「誠信經營」之教育訓練。

銀行於各商品教育訓練中,均涵蓋反貪腐之制度與規範課程,以灌輸同仁相關法治觀念。

 

風險控管

永豐金控已建立完整且妥適的風險管理機制,分別為「風險管理文化」、「風險管理政策及制度」及「緊急事件通報機制」3個面向,以確保企業在追求獲利的同時,能穩健經營。

1. 風險管理文化
建置專責獨立的單位,審議風險管理政策,有效管理經營業務所產生的各項風險,並推動政策及擬定原則策略。建構風險管理資訊系統,透過風險性資產的適當配置,追求風險報酬的合理化,以提昇整體的經營績效。積極改善重大風險管理缺失,透過稽核系統追蹤缺失改善進度,並將結果呈報董事會。

2. 風險管理政策及制度
永豐金控明確的風險管理架構,由4個專責層級組成,由上而下分別為董事會、風險管理委員會、風險管理處,同時架構第三道防線的獨立稽查功能─稽核單位,其清楚畫分權責歸屬,分層授權。並完整訂定各項風險的規範與限額,以取得業務獲利與風險管理的最佳平衡點。

稽核機制

永豐金控嚴格執行風險管理第三道防線,其獨立的稽核單位配置適足人力及具備風險管理專業與經驗的稽核同仁,評估公司風險管理衡量工具的妥適性。2017年建立適當稽核計劃與程序,了解各單位風險管理程序實際執行狀況,經風險評估後,列出關注的項目,對於查核缺失其追蹤改善流程,並同時說明2017年度內部稽核機制及稽核結果。

2017年稽核關注項目

法規遵循

為使同仁於日常業務行為皆能遵守法令規範,法令遵循處2017年持續加強對法令即時更新、規章檢核與法令遵循自評具體執行,並檢視各子公司重要專案之執行情形,加強法遵事項溝通及教育訓練,進行多樣化的交流,以落實法令遵循。