Fourth Quarter 2020 Earnings Results

TOP

SPH 2020 EPS of NT$ 1.08; ROE of 8.02%; Net Interest Income, Net Fee Income, and Net Revenues Reaching Record Highs

【2021.3.11】SinoPac Holdings (SPH) posted 4Q20 net revenues of NT$9.63 billion (-10.9% QoQ) and 4Q20 net income of NT$2.97 billion (-17.3% QoQ). The 2020 net revenues reached NT$39.01 billion (+7.4% YoY), and 2020 net income amounted to NT$12.20 billion (-2.2% YoY). SPH 2020 earnings per share reached NT$1.08, with an annualized return on equity (ROE) at 8.02% and a book value per share of NT$13.83.

SPH 2020 net interest income reached a historical high at NT$18.54 billion (+15.1% YoY), driven by robust loan growth. Thanks to thriving brokerage and sub-brokerage businesses by the securities arm, SPH posted a 2020 net fee income of NT$14.07 billion (+30.9% YoY) and has a peaked record in history.

Bank SinoPac (BSP) 2020 net revenues were NT$27.98 billion (+2.4% YoY), and 2020 net income amounted to NT$9.78 billion (-5.0% YoY).  Due to better loan portfolio structures and improved CASA ratio, the deposit rates declined more than the loan rates. As a result, the 4Q20 spread was 1.30% (+7.9bps QoQ), and the 4Q20 NIM was 1.03% (+1.9 bps QoQ). As the loan demand momentum and invested securities grew fast, the 4Q20 and 2020 net interest income was the highest quarter and a record-high year, respectively. Thanks to strong wealth management momentum, BSP 2020 net fee income also reached a record high. BSP asset quality continued to improve, with an NPL ratio of 0.14% and an NPL coverage ratio of 962%. After adopting LTV rules at the end of 2020, BSP boasted a BIS ratio of 16.02%, a Tier 1 ratio of 12.91%, and a CET1 ratio of 11.41%.

SinoPac Securities (SPS) reported 2020 net revenues of NT$10.18 billion (+24.6% YoY) and a net income of NT$2.82 billion (+48.0% YoY), which was the second-highest on record. The recurring income of NT$8.90 billion (+39.6% YoY) demonstrated robust growth momentum because of the growing market transaction volume and continuous booming sub-brokerage business. SPS has been making a great effort to develop the sub-brokerage business, and the sub-brokerage market share of SPS was ranked top two amongst the Taiwanese peers. The 2020 sub-brokerage fee income reached NT$ 2.11 billion (+68.7% YoY) and accounted for 29% of total fee income.

In 2020, SPH also made significant progress in sustainable development. Firstly, SPH elected the first-ever female chairperson of a Taiwanese private financial holdings company. Regarding risk management, we have adopted the TCFD framework to identify medium- to long-term climatic risks and opportunities, their potential impacts, and our planned response measures. Concerning strengthening information disclosure, our 2019 CSR report adopted the IR, TCFD, and SASB frameworks, which clearly state our three sustainability commitments, as well as our 2025 goals, which are linked to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals. BSP, SPS, and SinoPac SITC have signed the Stewardship Principles for Institutional Investors and published stewardship reports. Moreover, BSP signed the Equator Principles in 2020 to adopt responsible lending management. As of December 31, 2020, BSP’s total outstanding loans for solar power financing were approximately NT$39.7 billion (+60.0% YoY). With 4,830 power plants and an installed capacity of 1,423 MW, BSP’s market share was approximately 27%.

In addition, SPH garnered a host of external accolades for its sustainable governance performance in 2020. SPH was ranked in the top 5% of 901 TWSE listed companies in the 2019 TWSE Corporate Governance Evaluation. SPH also won the Elite Awards for the Best ESG and was honored with The Asset’s Best ESG-Platinum Award. Furthermore, we received an A- in our first year participating in the CDP survey. Looking ahead, SPH will continue to optimize sustainable governance and fulfill our corporate social responsibilities.

Operating Report
SPH 2020 ROE of 8.02%; 2020 net revenues reached a record high
NT$mn 4Q20 QoQ YoY 12M20 YoY
Net Revenues 9,629 -10.9% 14.6% 39,006 7.4%
Net Income 2,968 -17.3% 0.1% 12,204 -2.2%
 
SPH and BSP 2020 net interest income and net fee income reached record highs; Wealth management fee income of BSP and SPS retained strong growth momentum
NT$mn 4Q20 QoQ YoY 12M20 YoY
Net Interest Income 5,104 7.1% 19.4% 18,539 15.1%
Net Fee Income 2,935 -24.3% 35.0% 14,065 30.9%
Others 1,590 -26.6% -18.7% 6,402 -32.5%
 
SPH assets continued to deliver solid growth; Adopting LTV rules in 4Q20, BSP further enhanced its capital strength
  • SPH 4Q total assets NT$2.14 tn, +5.4% QoQ ; +17.0% YoY
  • BSP 4Q total loans NT$1.17 tn, +0.9% QoQ; +13.7% YoY
  • SPH 4Q CAR 132%; BSP consolidated BIS ratio 16.02%, Tier 1 ratio 12.91%
Awards and Achievements

In the fourth quarter, SPH and its subsidiaries won 40 awards in total, and some are listed below:

  • SPH was honored with three 2020 Taiwan Corporate Sustainability Awards by Taiwan Institute for Sustainable Energy, namely, TOP50 Corporate Sustainability Awards, Corporate Sustainability Report Silver Award-Finance and Insurance and Best Practice - Information Security Award
  • SPH won Best Companies to Work for in Asia Awards 2020 by HR Asia
  • SPH won the Best ESG Award, and BSP won Best Digital Finance Award at Taiwan Banking and Finance Best Practice Awards
  • BSP won Top Solar Awards - the Financial Services Provider by Bureau of Energy, Ministry of Economic Affairs and was the only financial company winner for the five consecutive years
  • BSP and SPS won Best Bank for Investment Solutions, FX, Top sell-side firms in the secondary market-corporate bonds-TWD and other seven awards by The Asset due to the outstanding performance in FX, fixed income, and traders

2020年第四季營運報告

TOP

金控2020年EPS 1.08元;ROE 8.02%;淨利收、淨手收與淨收益同創歷史新高

【2021.3.11】永豐金控(2890)自結(下同)第四季淨收益新台幣(下同)96.3億元(QoQ-10.9%),稅後淨利29.7億元(QoQ-17.3%)。2020年淨收益390.1億元(YoY+7.4%)為歷年新高,稅後淨利122.0億元(YoY-2.2%),每股盈餘1.08元,ROE 8.02%,每股淨值13.83元。

永豐金控2020年利息淨收益185.4億元(YoY+15.1%)創下歷年新高,成長動能來自於銀行子公司強勁的存放款動能。手續費淨收益140.7億元(YoY+30.9%)亦續創歷史新高,主要受惠於證券子公司的經紀與複委託手收的強勁成長。

永豐銀行2020年淨收益279.8億元(YoY+2.4%),稅後淨利97.8億元(YoY-5.0%)。受惠於放款結構改善與活存比增加,存款利率的降幅大於放款利率,第四季存放利差1.30%(QoQ+7.9bps)與淨利差1.03%(QoQ+1.9bps)連續二季度增加,加上放款與有價證券投資的快速成長,因此第四季及2020全年利息淨收益分別創下單季及歷年新高。2020年手續費淨收益在財富管理及放款手收帶動下,亦創下歷年最高水準。資產品質良好,第四季逾放比率0.14%,備抵呆帳覆蓋率962%。2020年底因適用不動產擔保債權採用LTV法計算風險權數,永豐銀行資本水準大幅提升,合併資本適足率16.02%,第一類資本適足率12.91%,普通股權益資本適足率11.41%。

永豐金證券2020年淨收益101.8億元(YoY+24.6%),稅後淨利28.2億元(YoY+48.0%),為歷年次高水準。受惠於大盤日均量增加,手續費淨收益創下歷史新高,帶動穩定性收入達89.0億元(YoY+39.6%)。證券積極發展複委託業務,市占率穩居前二,2020複委託手收21.1億元(YoY+68.7%),占整體手收比重29%。

2020年永豐金控在永續發展推動的成果斐然。在公司治理方面,完成了第七屆董事會改選,並選任出民營金控第一位女性董事長。在風險管理面,導入TCFD框架,鑑別未來短中長期氣候變遷相關風險與機會發生的可能性及潛在衝擊或影響,提出相應之風險管理措施。在強化資訊揭露方面,完成第一本整合性報告書;2019年CSR報告書導入IR、TCFD、SASB(銀行產業指標)框架,明確宣示三大永續承諾並連結八項聯合國永續發展目標,且設定到2025年要達成的目標。關於永續金融方面,強化落實責任投資,銀行、證券、投信均完成盡職治理政策訂定並揭露「機構投資人盡職治理報告書」;銀行更在2020年初簽署赤道原則,積極落實責任授信,2020年底永豐銀行太陽能發電設備融資餘額397億元(YoY+60%),設置光電總容量1,423MW(百萬瓦),市佔率約27%,太陽能電廠達4,830座。

永豐金控永續治理的作為在2020年也獲得多項外界肯定,包括在證交所公司治理評鑑名列上市公司前5%、獲得金融界奧斯卡之稱菁業獎最佳ESG獎優等、The Asset雜誌Best ESG白金獎、首次參與CDP問卷填覆即獲得A-領導等級等殊榮。迎向未來,永豐金控將持續精進永續治理,善盡企業社會責任。

 

營運摘要
2020金控ROE 8.02%,淨收益創歷史新高
NT$mn 4Q20 QoQ YoY 12M20 YoY
淨收益 9,629 -10.9% 14.6% 39,006 7.4%
稅後淨利 2,968 -17.3% 0.1% 12,204 -2.2%
 
2020金控與銀行淨利收與淨手收皆創史高;銀行與證券財富管理手收持續強勁成長
NT$mn 4Q20 QoQ YoY 12M20 YoY
利息淨收益 5,104 7.1% 19.4% 18,539 15.1%
手續費淨收益 2,935 -24.3% 35.0% 14,065 30.9%
其他淨收益 1,590 -26.6% -18.7% 6,402 -32.5%
 
金控資產穩健成長,銀行年底適用LTV法後資本水準進一步強化
  • 金控4Q總資產規模NT$2.14兆元,QoQ +5.4%;YoY +17.0%
  • 銀行4Q合併放款規模NT$1.17兆元,QoQ +0.9%;YoY +13.7%
  • 金控4Q CAR 132%,銀行合併BIS ratio 16.02%,Tier 1 ratio 12.91%
Awards and Achievements
金控暨子公司2020第四季榮獲40項獎項,其中包含:
  • 金控榮獲《財團法人台灣永續能源研究基金會》頒發2020 TCSA台灣企業永續獎「企業永續綜合績效獎─台灣TOP50永續企業獎」、「企業永續報告─金融及保險業─銀獎」及「卓越案例獎─資訊安全獎」,金控已連續五年獲得企業永續報告類獎項
  • 金控榮獲《HR Asia》頒發「2020 亞洲最佳企業雇主獎」,今年首度參賽便榮獲肯定
  • 金控及銀行分別榮獲《台灣金融研訓院》頒發第10屆台灣傑出金融業務菁業獎「最佳ESG獎」及「最佳數位金融獎」
  • 銀行榮獲《經濟部能源局》頒發「光鐸獎-優良金融服務獎」,成為自2016年起、唯一連續5年獲頒光鐸獎肯定的金融業者
  • 銀行及證券在國際外匯、債券市場,以及交易員的傑出表現,榮獲《The Asset》財資雜誌頒發9項大獎肯定,其中包含「Best Bank for Investment Solutions, FX」(最佳外匯投資解決方案銀行)及「臺灣公司債次級市場最佳債券商」(Top sell side firms in the secondary market-Corporate bonds-TWD)及7項大獎